Shoot Close or Go Wide – Nature Photography 101

Shoot Close or Go Wide

Water Droplets On Mum Petals Framed nature photograph floral photo

Water Droplets On Mum Petals Created by: Melissa Fague – Nature Photography

Try shooting your subject at different focal lengths during your session. Photograph your subject at a wide angle to take in the entire scene or go close to isolate a specific detail about your subject you want to emphasis. Try to avoid capturing shots of your subject head-on as they normally appear in front of you, this is the normal everyday perspective and can be mundane. If you move around and shoot from different angles you are showcasing details that normally go unnoticed; in my opinion this is one way to add the “wow” factor to your photographs.

This image is available for purchase through the following sites

cropped-blkcam2_websitelgo.jpg  For prints go to PIPA Fine Art

Save

One thought on “Shoot Close or Go Wide – Nature Photography 101

  1. pndrgn99

    Hi, I got a notice that you were new reader up and dragons Poetry and wanted to say hello and thank you for your time and attention. In the meantime also read today’s photographic tip and will be reading others as I have little luck with photographs. Curiously my daughter can take nothing but an iPhone and guess incredibly good results. I will try different focal lengths and also be looking around your site for advice on lighting since I think that is my other problem. Once again thank you for reading my work.
    My warm regards,

    Alexander

Comments are closed.