Photographer in the Spotlight: Dag Ole Nordhaug Day 2

Photographer in the Spotlight: Landscape Photographer Dag Ole Nordhaug

This week we chose to showcase travel nature and landscape photographer Dag Ole Nordhaug from Norway. He has a stunning array of beautiful travel and Landscape Photographs from around the world, which made picking 7 extremely hard this week. I hope you enjoy Dag’s bio, artist statement and stunning photographs in this week’s Photographer in the Spotlight. Don’t forget, you can nominate yourself or your favorite photographer at: PI Photography and Fine Art.

Dag’s  Bio

11080618_355090448028449_6230344545125227909_oBorn and raised in the northern parts of Norway, I was exposed to the great outdoors very early in life. The magic light north of the polar circle with midnight sun and endless summer nights as well as long blue hours and Aurora Borealis during winter had a profound impact on my view on nature and later on my photography.

I got my first camera at the age of nine (a Hanimex 35mm with a fixed 35mm lens, surprisingly good quality!) and I was sold. Surrounded by nature, landscapes became my first subject matter, and have stayed with me ever since. A couple of years later, I had saved enough money to buy my first SLR (A Yashica/Contax with a 35-70 push zoom) and by now I spent all my spare time out shooting. Two years later I converted to Nikon (the spectacular FA!).

The expenses of photography back in the days of film soon made me realize that I had to make an income to continue. Back in the eighties, selling images, both stock and press-work, was far easier and better paid than today. I did mostly press-work and that “brought me through high school” as the saying goes. I saved up enough money to purchase a complete darkroom setup, and to my mothers despair occupied a bathroom in the basement for the next few years. Of course I did mostly black&white work back then (Tri-X and Ilford films, Ilford papers) , but after a while I also moved into Kodaks E6 process to develop my own slides, and I also did tons of Cibachrome printing in color.

In 2002 I started to work digitally, but did not convert fully to digital until 2012. The possibilities in a digital workflow are amazing and by far surpasses what I was able to do in the darkroom. With recent years surge in digital quality, from capture to print, I am now working 100% digitally. However, I am very grateful for the “film and darkroom-years” and I believe that those years gave me a priceless foundation to understand the technical aspects of exposure and printing better.

Although I publish my work on the web extensively, I consider the print to be my ultimate product. Fine-tuning a print digitally can be such a challenge, but extremely rewarding when the result is good. I do not consider an image “finished” before I hold a large format matted print of it in my hands.

Dag’s Artist’s statement

Landscape photography is my passion.

As you may appreciate from my work, my definition of the term landscape is wide; from details and abstractions of nature through the grand vistas and into cityscapes and urban details. In extreme, you may claim that the only common denominator in my work is the absence of people. I find that the dialogue between the landscape and me is at its best when it is only between the two of us. People have a way of drawing attention that clutters the true character of a Place. My images hopfully set a stage so that each and everyone can interpret the scene and use their imagination on the subject without the distraction of other people. However, man-made objects often play a role in my work and I include them to create a sense of time, unfold a story and disclose the tension between man and land.

Many think of landscapes as static subjects, but I find that a scene rarely is the same from one day to another. Light, shadow, seasons, moon-phase and tide are all dynamic processes continuously altering the character of a place. I often visit the same location again and again, always searching for new light and compositions. Many of my images are the result of weeks or months of planning, scrutinizing maps, checking weather-conditions, moon-phases and tidal charts.

My pictures are testimonies of the character and mood of landscapes, as I see them. Not only through my lens and viewfinder, but blurred or sharpened by my vision. What I create are not documentaries. I portray the landscapes as they speak to me. My images exist for one purpose only; to describe my sense of a place and thereby fulfill my vision. Hopefully, they are also able to touch the viewer on the way.

I use whatever technique I find pertinent to fulfill my vision. Since 2012 I have been working in a 100% digital workflow. The Fine Art Print is my end-Product, and I do not consider an image finished before I hold a flawless matted large-format print in my hands. Fine-tuning an image and printing it can be extremely laborious and requires a meticulous workflow through all stages from planning through capture and post-processing and finally printing and mounting.

With one of my fine art prints I hope you will have a dear friend for life. Thank you for taking time to visit my site and explore my work. I hope you have as much pleasure in viewing my images as I had of creating them.

Where You Can Find Dag’s Work

Main Website
Facebook
500Px
Google Plus
Instagram

Today’s Spotlight Photograph: Landscape Photo – December Morning

December morning by Dag Ole Nordhaug on 500px.com

Dag’s Previous Spotlight Days: 1 , 2

Several months ago PI Photography and Fine Art rolled out with a new series of blog posts called Photographer in the Spotlight. For a full week we will showcase the bio, artist statement and seven images of a selected photographer’s work that we found most interesting. Our hope is that our audience not only sees the beautiful work created by these passionate photographers but also learn a little about the artists behind the pieces. There are so many wonderful photographers in the world and a lot of the time we only see the photograph, not the artist.  So we thought it would be nice to show appreciation for the artist, for their dedication to their field, and share some of their work along the way.

Think about it, if it wasn’t for the artist then there would be no art to admire and honestly, life would be pretty boring without it! So show your appreciation to them for spicing up your life and showing you their beautiful perception of the world. Share their stories and captivating work for others to experience.

If you would like to be showcased or know a photographer who should be, please submit the info through our contact us page: Photographer in the Spotlight Submissions

 

To see The Previous Spotlight Photographers:

Hillary Younger
Mitch Dobrowner
Linda Bembridge
Patrick Smith
Warren Keelan
Sophie Carr
Sarah Alsayegh

Save